Home » Uncategorized » Are You a ‘4 Percenter’?

Are You a ‘4 Percenter’?

About two years ago the Court of Appeals ruled that “purebred pit bulls” (whatever that means) were inherently dangerous and that landlords were strictly liable for their actions.

Every month since then a new group of tenants receive their lease renewal (most are on a two year lease, so each month about 4% of tenants experience a lease renewal – hence “the 4 percenters”). Usually, the only thing a tenant worries about when their lease comes up for renewal is a rent increase.

Tenants may not even notice, but for the majority of them there is a new clause in their lease that says…”no pit bulls”. Every month, 4 percent of dog owning tenants are likely to have a new, devastating prohibition to peaceably keep the beloved family dog.

What’s our next problem? Lease renewals with breed discriminatory clauses! By April 2014 or sometime thereafter probably 90% of all Maryland dog owning tenants will have signed a new lease since the Solesky decision was published. We expect every new lease will be changed to have a breed discriminatory clause. Once leases have breed discriminatory clauses, tenants can be evicted even if landlords are not strictly liable anymore.

HB422 is the only bill proposed this year that stops this ever growing problem.
If you are a 4 percenter, HB422 will save your dog and save your family. Ask the Judiciary Committee to vote for it:

Joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us
Kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us
Curt.anderson@house.state.md.us
Sam.arora@house.state.md.us
Jill.carter@house.state.md.us
Luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us
John.cluster@house.state.md.us
Frank.conaway@house.state.md.us
Glen.glass@house.state.md.us
Michael.hough@house.state.md.us
Kevin.kelly@house.state.md.us
Susan.lee@house.state.md.us
Susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us
Mike.mcdermott@house.state.md.us
Keiffer.mitchell@house.state.md.us
Neil.parrott@house.state.md.us
Samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us
Luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us
Michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us
Kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us
Geraldine.valentino.smith@house.state.md.us
Jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us

Need JUD phone numbers? See below.

Joseph Vallario, District 27A, 410-841-3488
Kathleen Dumais, District 15, 301-858-3052
Curt Anderson, District 43, 410-841-3291
Sam Arora, District 19, 301-858-3528
Jill P. Carter, District 41, 410-841-3268
Luke Clippinger, District 46, 301-858-3303
Frank Conaway, District 40, 410-841-3189
Glen Glass, District 34A, 301-858-3280
Michael Hough, District 3B, 301-858-3472
Kevin Kelly, District 1B, 301-858-3404
Susan Lee, District 16, 301 858-3649
Susan McComas, District 35B, 301-858-3272
Michael McDermott, District 38B, 301-858-3431
Neil Parrott, District 2B, 301- 858-3636
Samuel Rosenberg, District 41, 410-841-3297
Luiz Simmons, District 17, 301-858-3037
Michael Smigiel, District 36, 410-841-3555
Darren Swain, District 24, 301-858-3692
Kris Valderrama, District 26, 301-841-3210
Geraldine Valentino-Smith, District 23A, 301-858-3101
Jeffrey Waldstreicher, District 18, 301-858-3130

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: